Citizens for Optimism

How do you inspire happiness? Some find it easy to do so by stringing together beautiful sentences with words that fall into place and fill gaps in our minds. Others create magic by strumming a few notes on their guitar that can instantly lift your spirit. Then there are those who mix the stunning worlds of writing and design to form the best of both worlds.

In this case – Citizens for Optimism; a col­lab­o­ra­tion of 17 design­ers who created posters inspiring optimism.  There are 17 posters in all, inspired by 17 words.

Tagged , ,

163 thoughts on “Citizens for Optimism

  1. Love this! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Cathy says:

    Seeing posters like these automatically lift up my spirits. Thank you, very nice :)

  3. honeybeaks says:

    Thanks for sharing this. It really made my day.

  4. amiarting says:

    Ah love it!
    This is an amazing blog ..

    Check my blog out on
    http://www.amiarting.wordpress.com
    http://www.amiarting.wordpress.com

    I do arts , designs and writing ..

  5. Mars says:

    Beautiful! Loved this :) Brightened up my day

  6. chachiphotography says:

    Certain gave me a lift on a wet day! love them

  7. Reblogged this on Vintage & Nahla and commented:
    Great Posters ;)

  8. aleksledocteur says:

    5X HAPPY is my favourite :)

  9. Antara says:

    This is amazing!!! Shine on you crazy diamond!

  10. tbenf says:

    Amazing how a little bit of upbeat and encouraging words can make all of the difference. Thanks for sharing those! Made my early morning work shift wonderful ;-)

  11. thenewviewnl says:

    Wauw like it!!

  12. Never thought I’d see a link to The Smiths on a blog about optimism! Works though. Thanks for sharing!

  13. hannahbanana says:

    So that’s how you write happy … haha, I’m kidding. But these are great! :)

  14. Jackie Paulson says:

    Love this and very creative.

  15. How cool! Congrats on FPed!
    Kathy

  16. These are awesome- I love it!

  17. Wow! Amazing posters! I’m downloading ! Cheers!

    Please spare some time and hover over to http://raajtram.com/better-to-light-a-candle-than-curse-the-darkness/

  18. afroblush says:

    I writer who designs and a designer who writes! I love it, wish I thought of it! Congrats on being freshly pressed

  19. bekkacollins says:

    I really like this, thanks!

  20. novusophia says:

    I personally appreciated the first two ones ( the 2 last ones carry a small part of advertising, but seem good too!) here’s why:
    The first one is great because it’s well thought and they tried to make every possible connection between the good things , going from “sad” thoughts and linking them to thoughts giving them a positive feel nevertheless.
    As for the second one…
    what can i say… : “I WANNA LICK IT” :)

    Great post, trying to get people to be happier is always a good character point in my book ! Keep going :)

  21. amazing pictures…i’ve never seen that

  22. aadilfahim says:

    HAHAHA! I got confused first; I’ve the same theme for my blog and I was like, what the deuce! It was a nice to read your blog. (: If you get time, do visit mine! http://www.intomyinfiniteabyss.wordpress.com

  23. itssrijana says:

    i really like this ..thanks :D

  24. Reblogged this on thegallerygoddess and commented:
    This is awesome!! The power of positivity is something I never doubt (I’m a 42 year old college junior!).

  25. ragdyand says:

    Reblogged this on Optimistic Voice and commented:
    I like this post…

  26. Wow, talk about serendipity! I logged on to write a post about optimism, and I find this on freshly pressed. This is literally an example of how words create our world. How we choose to talk about our lives and how we choose to think about our lives create our experience of it. Optimistic people find more opportunities, take more action, and enjoy the process more. Cynical, negatively thinking people see failure and unpleasantness – and so that’s what they create for themselves. I love that you shared a visual that was so inspiring and hopefully will shift people towards opposite. It’s truly a just act. Well done! A tip of the hat to you. I’m at mariewetmore.com, and I write a lot about these kinds of topics. let’s keep the conversation going!

  27. sorry I meant “shift people toward optimism”- voice recognition software blunder :)

  28. if the “happy happy happy happy” poster doesn’t inspire optimism, I don’t know what will. :)

  29. lizdail says:

    Love it! Especially the first one: “Shine on you crazy diamond” – Fantastic!

  30. madisoncary says:

    congrats on making freshly pressed! great posts as always!

  31. Love, love, love these~ bless your glittering, creative soul. :) Thanks for sharing your talent. Congratulations on making FP.

    Sincerely,

    A Writer Who Can’t Draw Stick Figures :)

  32. Atlas Globes says:

    Ha! “This poster is sweet…Lick it!” That’s the best one.

  33. Carlie Chew says:

    I love them all, what great idea! This definitely put a smile on my face, thanks for sharing.

  34. foxolio says:

    Oooh! Thank you for sharing, those are awesome!

  35. jess says:

    wonderful post, actually did brighten my day! thanks for sharing!

  36. hnshiveley says:

    Reblogged this on hnshiveley and commented:
    This is great

  37. I think I need to get a few of these for my home office; the second one is my favorite. However, I’m also a germophobe; therefore, I think I’d be afraid people would ACTUALLY lick it, thus making it a hanging petri dish on my wall.

    Maybe I’ll go with the first instead…

    ;)

  38. heysheila says:

    I, too am a lover of all things design. These are wonderful, thanks for sharing.
    How does one become a designer/contributor on Citizens For Optimism? I would love to be part of the positiveness!

  39. cdouglas29 says:

    I would love to have the first one as an actually poster up in my room. How many times a day do I need to remind myself this stuff.

  40. Lotto Results says:

    Lick it! Congratulations on being freshly pressed.

  41. marsyah73 says:

    i am happy, right now. :)

  42. Carmela says:

    Life is too short. Time to Live Life.

    Think of 3 things to be thankful for and spend a few minutes a day doing what you love.

  43. That’s certainly a way to cheer people up.

  44. coxcastillo says:

    Reblogged this on coxcastillo and commented:
    love love love it

  45. Cool blog!Thanks for sharing those pictures.

  46. RAMU DAS says:

    it’s very creative and interesting!

  47. I really like this. Great idea.

  48. love LOVE these posters. Thanks for sharing them!

  49. integrityisyou says:

    Optimism is a great thing to share! It makes you stronger to be able to think positively in times of darkness for sure! Those posters are awesome.

  50. These are great! I love the ”This poster is sweet – lick it’ and the ”Oh la la” one. Thanks for sharing! xx

  51. moresequinsplease says:

    This is visually stimulating. lol I love it, and I have a graphic designer friend who I can’t wait to show this to : )

  52. Vanessa says:

    Love this! Thanks for sharing..I’ll be mentioning the site in my next blog post!

  53. Currie Rose says:

    These are beautiful. Thank you for inspiring a smile on my heart. :)

  54. John Saddington says:

    Reblogged this on 8BIT.

  55. Wow, how wonderful, I especially love the first one!
    Is it bad if you buy yourself one? Haha.
    I am a crazy diamond :)

  56. Abby Rae says:

    SO AWESOME to read this after I posted my blog this AM! I ended with the “Shine On…” quote!! :) :) :)

  57. Abby Rae says:

    Reblogged this on abbyrae33.me and commented:
    HAHAHA!!! I just read this after my last post. Kool-Aid! :)

  58. i love thiss!!!! thnkx for sharing :D!

  59. beckyspringer says:

    LOVE IT! i love the “this poster is sweet…” one. So awesome :).

  60. nonstopbuzz says:

    Great post, thanks for sharing! The ‘Life’, ‘Confidence’ and ‘Blessed’ posters are awesome too!

  61. I am a creative services manager and can definitely appreciate this post! I also love the idea of citizens for optimism. I’m glad I came across this post. Check out my blog post regarding positive thinking:

    candidcara.blogspot.com

  62. Emina says:

    This is wonderful! are these posters available for download/print?

  63. Grumpa Joe says:

    Cool idea. The posters, although simple, express the concepts exquisitely. Great post.

  64. Liz says:

    I love these! The Smiths one is awesome!

  65. Cassie says:

    These are awesome – I love that first and second one.

  66. Lil' Catkin says:

    Absolutely beautiful! This brightened my day. :)

  67. Reblogged this on complexvisuals and commented:
    Need a little more happiness in your day? Check out Citizens for Optimism’s posters for creating optimism!

  68. jensine says:

    Thanks so much … shared with a friend who is an illustrator …

  69. Clever concept. :) Thanks for posting. :)

  70. mmonty86 says:

    Really cool posters. I especially like the Shine on You Crazy Diamond centric one. Beautiful.

  71. leatierney says:

    Off to bed with a smile, ta very much :)

  72. shoutabyss says:

    FYI. The Guru of Negativity was here. That is all. :)

  73. flooytroocoo says:

    Reblogged this on pen.sée.ing.

  74. don’t make me lick it……ok…….there…….yes i do feel better…..your turn

  75. stephendentdds says:

    Love the optimism and humor of these posters!

  76. logatfer says:

    Really nice!! Thanks for sharing this! :)

  77. milkyminx says:

    Littlecommas, thanks — this project is inspiring!
    Mikalee, your comment is hilarious. Re: the 2nd poster — I liked that one two, but a second later thought, “ooh gross . . . what if people actually licked that poster?” Eek!
    Best wishes all, and may your optimism balloons remain intact.//mm

  78. I love the title. I consider myself an optimist just needed to see this blog to day :)

  79. thanks for the love

  80. Reblogged this on Occupy Your Heart and commented:
    This idea made me smile…and I’m going to pull out a note book and see what I can create.

  81. Adore this! Thank you so much for sharing!

  82. Sewthegirl says:

    I love everything about this project. On their site,CFO says that their impetus was to show that design can inspire happiness, and I think they’ve proved their thesis 17 times over. I know that a design I love–and I especially love type-dominant desgn like these posters–not only leaves me smiling, inside and out, but the good feeling it inspires lingers long after the experience of viewing the design is over. Thanks so much for sharing this!

  83. Claudia says:

    Keep us always smiling with a daily happy attitude!

  84. Love it! Shine on You Crazy Diamond! :)

  85. theliftblog says:

    Reblogged this on theliftblog.

  86. Pretty Pink Parasol says:

    Reblogged this on My Distant Dreamer.

  87. I’m all for optimism, it begets more optimism. Great posters.

  88. aedjie says:

    never goes out…..
    this like me..

  89. umairahmurtaza says:

    Amazing posters!

  90. Reblogged this on mADEmoiselle and commented:
    Let me share and reblog :)
    It’s superb! :)

  91. drewccapp says:

    Reblogged this on Words For Thought and commented:
    An interesting find in the blogsphere… I figured I’d show it to you.

  92. i honestly almost lick my monitor seeing that poster (silly me) :)

  93. LOVE THEM!!!!

    Thank you for shinning your light!

    ~ Jennifer

  94. Aww these are so amazing! Love them. <3

  95. Des says:

    Reblogged this on grahamandkennedy and commented:
    Found this awesome post. Check the website – truly wonderful!

  96. lijiujiu says:

    Excellent post.
    This is really a good work. I appreciate your efforts behind that.
    Thanks for sharing.

  97. Reblogged this on simplemomentsofhappiness and commented:
    Love the imagery of this blog!!!!

  98. Love this… makes me happy :) oh la la !

  99. jamharl says:

    We really have a happy life if we choose to! Happy post.

  100. Definately Freshly Pressed!

  101. Wow! These posters made me realise what a joy it is to be alive, and how being optimistic makes such a difference. :-)

  102. I feel so much more optimistic now!

  103. Jane says:

    love this – what a great start to the easter weekend!

  104. photopins says:

    i love this! i recently started blogging my photos but haven’t really got into writing. i’m a bit of a pessismist and think that i dont have a creative style in writing but YES! optimism. the more writing experience the better. just like photography. thanks for sharing!

  105. This is fantastic! :)

  106. As a jeweler, I love the “You are a Diamond” poster.

  107. laurenwhitney91 says:

    that first one is AMAZING!!! smiling from ear to ear :D

  108. marshah16 says:

    Love this! I’m all about happiness :)

  109. Alexandra says:

    Love this post – nice level of optimism for end of the week!

  110. shil says:

    Beautiful posters !!

  111. Off The Cuff says:

    Simple yet to the point, very nice!

  112. pagansum says:

    love the “there is a light that never goes out” poster. Very nice work :)

  113. Reblogged this on sketchbookthought and commented:
    first time to reblog, but this just made me so happy i had to. happy wet thursday, kids; smile more.

  114. justmissalia says:

    Reblogged this on Body, Mind and Seoul and commented:
    :)

  115. Harper Maya says:

    Love it !!
    And.. no, I won’t lick that poster HA HA

  116. edgeledge says:

    Thank you for waking me from slumber of gloom and doom :)

  117. awesome pics…1 like from me ;-))

  118. ” This poster is sweet..lick it ”
    Aaawww…love it ! xxD

  119. Reblogged this on apensiveonmyown and commented:
    A spirit lifter..xD

  120. Its nice…i liked it :) There is light that never goes out :)…keep it going :)

  121. magnettes says:

    Reblogged this on 21flights and commented:
    i like the first and third one. (okay, the first one could use a biiiit of work) the last one was a bit too excessive that the focus from the words was kinda taken away :|| good quote though.

    the pursuit for happiness.

  122. Louella says:

    Just wonderful!!! Thanks for sharing…

  123. mavegyver says:

    Great inspiration! Thank you for sharing!

  124. mavegyver says:

    Reblogged this on Mavegyver and commented:
    I found this great post about inspiring people to be happy and more optimistic. Just love it!

  125. Smaktakula says:

    These are great! Although I don’t know how inspiring the Smiths quote is. Oh, sure, it’s pretty enough on its face, but I read it and then think, “If a double-decker bus crashes into us…”

  126. Brilliant idea and beautiful works!

  127. jordan.callier says:

    I really love your work. Definitely inspirational!!!

    Jordan C.
    howtographicdesign.wordpress.com

  128. munteng says:

    ppl honestly like it when they like your post. (:

  129. […] was brought to my attention by Little Commas, as writer who designs and a designer who writes, or maybe t’other way aboot.  Anyway, Lil C […]

  130. kashintransit says:

    Now these are the kind of posters we need to see in work places! Definitely a lot more effective than “Is this good for the company?” XD

  131. sweet posters, can you make me one like that.

  132. *Love* “This Poster is Sweet. Lick it”. And I’m almost certain that if that poster was hanging up somewhere, someone would lick it.

  133. evanvacek says:

    Reblogged this on I've got big dreams, high hopes, and good intentions. and commented:
    I’m going to put a few of these together for sure.

  134. niverse says:

    Reblogged this on niverse and commented:
    I Like the First One :D

Leave a Reply

