The art of handwriting

Some people bake, some go for a run, some emotionally eat (I fall into this tasty little bucket). But I also hand letter comforting quotes and lyrics when I’m feeling a little blue. There’s something about the relaxed flowing nature of one’s hand while writing beautiful words that have been felt and written by someone else maybe even years ago, that makes me feel better, slowly but surely. I feel hopeful, inspired, and a lot more connected to my creative side while I hand letter quotes.

Sometimes it’s the simplest of quotes, things we wish to hear that help us exhale and get through the day.
Sometimes, it’s a swift kick in the creative shin like this. Every creative needs to hear this sometimes.
Other times, we need a gentler voice when life gets hard. I pick quotes and lyrics that are a comfort to me in my time of need.
Ooh, this one. Enough with all the lessons and healing already am I right?

After years of planning to do this, I’ve finally listed my handlettering on an Etsy store. I’m starting out with these few pieces for now to see how it goes. They’re digital downloads so you’ll get them instantly once you purchase them and can print them out however you’d like to decorate your home, art studio, and office too. I post the rest of my pieces on my Instagram account. Come say hi.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The art of handwriting

  1. JohnRH says:

    My hand is not relaxed and flowing while writing. I tried it for a few months and went back to printing. I do like that my handwriting is an undecipherable code to younger generations that can’t read it. Oh, and I just made a sandwich. πŸ₯ͺ πŸ‘πŸ‘

Leave a comment